Recently renovated, Hillcrest offers the best in contemporary comfort allowing guest to experience one of the olde towne’s treasures.
The fine house known as Hillcrest was built on two early land grants. On the northern half stood the 17th century home of widow Alice Finney. To the south Daniel Jones erected a stone residence soon after it was granted in 1699. After Finney’s daughter married Jones, the two properties were joined to form one of the largest lots in the town. Ownership remains unclear after the Jones family died out in the 1750s, but a house was standing on the lot when Mary Leacraft and Richard Minors sold the property to Richard Prudden in 1789. The deed to a neighbouring property reveals that Prudden was living there three years earlier as a tenant. Originally from Southampton, Prudden was a highly successful merchant who channeled his profits into purchasing many of the lots surrounding Hillcrest.
Hillcrest was a 'U' shaped building. During the 1840's it became the first American Consulate and in 1876 the 'U' was filled in and a wooden verandah was added to the front, changing to concrete in 1920. Sold to the Robinson family in 1961, Hillcrest was converted into a guest home.
Purchased in January 2015, a full renovation has been done from plumbing to electrical. With all new flooring and furniture this magnificent guesthouse is licensed and open for business.
Where did the name Aunt Nea’s Inn come from?
In 1804, noteworthy Irish poet Thomas Moore was living at the Inn as a guest of the American Consul where he met his unrequited love and inspiration for the poem Odes to Nea, Hester “Nea” Tucker. Nea lived adjacent to the property and was the wife of William Tucker, making such a poem of romantic and infatuated prose notably more scandalous. While Moore’s stay in Bermuda was brief, the poem lives on as a tale of Moore’s romanticism of the island.